skip to content

Magnetism

PD Dr. Thomas Lorenz

2 h lectures: Thursday 10.00-11.30

seminar room 201 of II. Physikalisches Instituts

start: Thursday, April 10, 2014

Lecture notes

lecture_01 Thursday, Apr. 10

lecture_02 Thursday, Apr. 17

chapter_01

lecture_03 Thursday, Apr. 24

Note:  due to the public holiday on 1st of May lecture 04 is shifted to Monday, Apr. 28th at 14:00 in the same seminar room 201

lecture_04 Monday, Apr. 28

chapter_02

lecture_05 Thursday, May 08

lecture_06 Thursday, May 15

lecture_07 Thursday, May 22

lecture_08 Thursday, June 05

there are no lectures on June, 12 due to the lecture-free week related to Pfingsten and on June 19, which is a public holiday (Fronleichnam).

lecture_09 Thursday, June 26

lecture_10 Thursday, July 03

lecture_11 Thursday, July 10

lecture_12 Thursday, July 17

Literature

     

  • S. Blundell "magnetism in condensed matter"    (Oxford University Press)
  • Ashcroft/Mermin "Solid state physics"        (Saunders)
  • Ch. Kittel      "Festkörperphysik"            (Oldenbourg)
  • K.H. Hellwege "Festkörperphysik"            (Springer)
  • R. Gross & A. Marx ""Festkörperphysik"     (Oldenbourg)
  • A.H. Morrish "Physical principles of magnetism"    (Wiley)
  • R. M. White "Quantum theory of magnetism"    (McGraw-Hill)
  • J.H. van Vleck "Theory of electric and magnetic susceptibilities"    (Oxford  University Press)
  • P. Fazekas "Lecture notes on electron correlation & magnetism"  (World Scientific)
  • J.D. Jackson "Classical electrodynamics"        (Wiley)
  • F. Schwabl  "Quantenmechanik I & II"            (Springer)